Martinsville Speedway

October 27th, 3:00 PM ET, NBCSN TV

.526 Mile, 12 Degrees of Banking

Playoff Race #7

Stages end after laps: 130/260/500

We are six races through the ten race Playoff for the Monster Energy Cup. Drivers #22 Joey Logano, #14 Clint Bowyer,    #24 William Byron   and #88 Alex Bowman have been eliminated from the Playoffs. #18 Kyle Busch, #11 Denny Hamlin, #19 Martin Truex, #2 Brad Keselowski, #12 Ryan Blaney, #4 Kevin Harvick, #9 Chase Elliott,  and #42 Kyle Larson  will all move on. These eight drivers are from five different teams. The only teams with a chance at a championship are Stewart Hass Racing, Team Penske, Joe Gibbs Racing, Hendrick Motorsports and Chip Ganassi Racing. All eight drivers are looking for a win that will lock them in to the championship race in Homestead. This is the last of the season’s six short track races. We know that short tracks bring on short tempers and with just four races to go in the season, the drivers are doing what they must to gather enough points to claim a successful season. We probably won’t see a lot of patience on the track – bump and run could be the phrase of the day, or worse yet, dump and run. Chevy has won 50% of the races here in the last 10 years. In those 20 races over the last ten years Hendrick Motorsports accounts for 30% of those wins and their engine shop 45%. Jimmie Johnson is the winning-est current driver here with nine trips to Victory Lane. #2 Brad Keselowski is the defending Champion of this race and his team mate #22 Joey Logano won here earlier in the year in a Team Penske Ford. Joe Gibbs Racing and their Toyota’s are tied with Hendrick Motorsports in number of wins (6) in the last ten years. Will Hendrick Motorsports and Chevy return to Victory Lane? Or will we see Ford or Toyota chip away at team Hendrick’s and Chevy’s dominance. We’ll find out on Sunday.

Tuesday look for our Top 10 short track drivers.