BANKING Turn 1 14 degrees, Turn 2, 8 degrees, Turn 3, 6 Degrees

July 30th, 3:00PM ET on NBC-SN TV

Is this a road course, a flat track, or a tri-oval? How about all of the above? Only three turns, yet each one is banked slightly differently. When you attend this race in this spectacular part of the country, it is like watching a road course because you can’t really see every turn on the track. We have seen 14 different drivers win here in the last ten years. Those 14 drivers come from nine different teams. Two teams though have 50% of those wins. Hendrick Motorsports has the most wins in the last ten years, with six – two from Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr. and one each from Jimmie Johnson and Kasey Kahne. But their last win was in this race in 2014. Joe Gibbs Racing has four wins in the last ten years – one each from Joey Logano and Matt Kenseth and two from Denny Hamlin. Ford has gotten the last two wins from Chris Buescher and Ryan Blaney, both surprise winners. Will we see more new faces in Victory Lane?  We’ll know on Sunday.

Tuesday look for our top 10 drivers on flat tracks. Thursday we rank the top 30 drivers for Sunday’s race.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s